Recognition Processes



At BSI there are two types of recognition processes offered –

  1. Credit Transfer and
  2. Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).
  1. Credit Transfer

Credit is recognising the equivalence of nationally recognised studies you may have previously undertaken and completed. Credit for previous studies undertaken is not a Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) process (see RPL process below).  RPL is a form of assessment of the current competence of a person.  BSIL accepts and provides credit to learners for any unit of competency and/or modules (unless licensing or regulatory requirements prevent this) where these are evidenced by:

  • AQF certification documentation issued by any other RTO or AQF authorised issuing organisation / institution, or
  • authenticated VET transcripts issued by the Australian Skills Quality Authority / USI Registry, Training Accreditation Council (WA), Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority.

Credit transfer means you are not required to repeat any unit in which you have already been assessed as competent, unless a regulatory requirement or license condition (including industry licensing schemes) requires this. Where you provide suitable evidence that you have successfully completed a unit, BSIL will provide credit for that unit.  Credit can also be granted for any units completed at any authorised issuing organisation, such as a university.

BSIL is not obliged to issue a qualification or statement of attainment that is achieved wholly through recognition of units and/or modules completed at another RTO or RTOs and it should also be noted that in some cases, licensing or regulatory requirements may prevent a unit being awarded through a credit process.

You can apply for credit transfer when you register your interest in a nationally recognised qualification or skillset.  For further information, see the Participant Handbook on the website or contact BSIL on 1300 137 504

  1. Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Recognition of prior learning (RPL), is the process for giving credit for skills, knowledge and experience gained through working and informal learning. It can be gained at any stage of life, through formal and informal learning, in Australia or overseas, through work and/or other activities such as volunteering.

Recognition is a term that includes Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), Recognition of Current Competency (RCC) and Skills Recognition and is a form of assessment. All terms refer to recognition of any competencies currently held, regardless of how, when or where the learning occurred.

Assessment is the process of collecting evidence and making judgements on whether competency has been achieved, to confirm that you can perform to the standard expected in the workplace, as expressed in the relevant endorsed industry/enterprise competency standards.

There are two main pathways by which statements of attainment or qualifications are achieved, one that includes a combination of training and assessment, and one which involves only assessment. Recognition at BSIL is known as an Assessment Only Pathway. RPL recognition may also be followed by gap training to achieve additional units of competency required (ie partial recognition may be given resulting in reduced training and assessment time).

Under the Australian VET Quality Framework, competencies may be attained in a number of ways. This includes any combination of formal or informal training and education, work experience or general life experience:

  • Formal learning refers to learning that takes place through a structured program of instruction and is linked to the attainment of an AQF qualification or statement of attainment (for example, a certificate, diploma or university degree);
  • non-formal learning refers to learning that takes place through a structured program of instruction, but does not lead to the attainment of an AQF qualification or statement of attainment (for example, in-house professional development programs conducted by a business); and
  • informal learning refers to learning that results through experience of work-related, social, family, hobby or leisure activities (for example the acquisition of interpersonal skills developed through several years as a sales representative).

In order to grant recognition of prior learning/current competency the BSIL assessor must be confident that an applicant is currently competent against the endorsed industry/enterprise competency standards.  The evidence may take a variety of forms and could include eg certifications, references from past employers, testimonials from clients and work samples. The assessor must ensure that the evidence is authentic, valid, reliable, current and sufficient.

Fees apply for RPL.  Please contact BSIL on 1300 137 504 to discuss your RPL needs. Additional information can also be found in the BSIL Participant Handbook on the website.