Food Safety Supervision Skill Set



Successful completion of all units of competency will result in the award of a nationally recognised Food Safety Supervision Skill Set. Participants who do not successfully complete the full program will be issued with a nationally recognised Statement of Attainment for any of the unit/s of competency they have been deemed competent in. Recognition is available for this qualification – see the Participant Handbook or the Recognition Process page for more information.


This training is subsidised by the NSW Government under Smart & Skilled (NSW residents only). For more information and eligibility requirements see

Core Units

SITXFSA005 - Use hygienic practices for food safety

1. Follow hygiene procedures and identify food hazards.

2. Report any personal health issues.

3. Prevent food contamination.

4. Prevent cross-contamination by washing hands.

SITXFSA006 - Participate in safe food handling practices

1. Follow food safety program.

2. Store food safely.

3. Prepare food safely.

4. Provide safe single use items.

5. Maintain a clean environment.

6. Dispose of food safely.